How to use the site

Information is generally based around a 'place', which can be a region, province, comarca (county), city, town or village.

  • To see a specific place - type its name into the "Type a placename" box (selecting the name when you see it appear) - the page for that place will be displayed with tabs for information.
  • To browse down through a region - click the "Locations" button and start selecting, or click on the map (hover to see the region's name).

For activities and accomodation - click on the relevant menu button and you will see a list of types of activity/accomodation together with a list places where they occur. Click on the place name for more details.

If you can't find what you are looking for, please let us know (use the menu item Contact Us). We'd also like to hear any comments you'd care to make.


Valencia Province

map`of Valencia ProvinceValencia (Spanish) or València (Valenciano) is a province in the centre of the Valencian Community, Spain.

It is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea and the provinces of Alicante, Albacete, Cuenca, Teruel and Castellón. The northwestern side of the province is in the mountainous Sistema Ibérico area.

Part of its territory, the Rincón de Ademuz, is an exclave sandwiched between the provinces of Cuenca and Teruel.

Of the province's near 3 million people, one-third live in the capital, Valencia, which is also the capital of the autonomous community. There are 265 municipalities in the province, all of which have entries in this website.

The province is historically subdivided into comarques (plural of 'comarca'):

Traditionally Valencia City was considered to be part of "Horta de Valencia" but today it is treated as a comarca.