How to use the site

Information is generally based around a 'place', which can be a region, province, comarca (county), city, town or village.

  • To see a specific place - type its name into the "Type a placename" box (selecting the name when you see it appear) - the page for that place will be displayed with tabs for information.
  • To browse down through a region - click the "Locations" button and start selecting, or click on the map (hover to see the region's name).

For activities and accomodation - click on the relevant menu button and you will see a list of types of activity/accomodation together with a list places where they occur. Click on the place name for more details.

If you can't find what you are looking for, please let us know (use the menu item Contact Us). We'd also like to hear any comments you'd care to make.


La Unión

Postal Code: 
Town Hall: 
[+34] 968560660
Local Police: 
[+34] 968560051
Guardia Civil: 
[+34] 968560011
Health Centre: 
[+34] 968541417
  • 1st fortnight of October : Virgen del Rosario
  • August : Festival International del Cante de las Minas

La Unión is a municipality in the comarca Campo de Cartagena , situated in the Region of Murcia, Spain. The municipality, in addition to the city of La Union has two districts: Roche and Portman.

For a long time,the economy of La Union was based on the exploitation of the mines of their mountain. After long decline, new initiatives and operating procedures (rewash of old debris and open-cast mining) encouraged growth into the 60's. At that time, the first Moroccan immigrants arrived to participate.In the towns of Torre Pacheco, Fuente Alamo, La Union and Cartagena , they produce red and white wines, under the name local wines.

Places of Interest: 
  • El Antiguo Mercado Público.  
  • Casa del Piñón.  
  • Hospital de Sangre (demolido),  
  • Liceo de Obreros
  • La Cooperativa. 
  • Casa Cortés.  
  • Antiguo Hospital de la Caridad (Pedanía de Portmán)
  • Casa del Tío Lobo
  • Parroquia Nuestra Señora del Rosario
  • Parroquia Nuestra Señora de Los Dolores (En Roche)
  • Parroquia Nuestra Señora de Los Dolores (El Garbanzal)
  • Museo Arqueológico
  • Museo Minero
  • Museo Etnológico
La Unión